Quran Stories – Just give up: A boy’s lesson on perseverance

Please follow the link below to catch up on Part One:

http://meccastars.com/2013/08/15/quran-stories-just-give-up-a-boys-lesson-on-perseverance/

Image

Part Two:

“This book was meant to be committed to memory and this is overtly reinforced in Surah Qamar”, encouragingly said my Ustadh.

Wow, that’s pretty cool,  I thought.

I had always thought I wanted to become a Hafiz (one who committed the Holy Qur’an to memory). I was like Forrest Gump running with no obvious understanding of why or where. Pursuit proposed the perception of clarity and depth.

Do I really want to be a Hafiz? I pondered.

This question teleported me back to the origins of my journey. My quest began upon my mother’s return from Hajj (Pilgrimage). Hajj had revitalized her soul, which lead to her spiritual growth. The following hadith – “(the) parents (of one who memorizes the Quran) will be dressed in two garments that the world can never equal. Thereupon, they will question, ‘For what reason are we dressed in these garments?’ lt will be said, ‘This is by virtue of your child who memorized the Qur’an (Mustradak).” –  had produced a burning desire in her to make one of her sons a hafiz. She really embodied the phrase, “by any means necessary”. Hence, at the tender age of 11, I began my journey.

“Do you understand son?”, asked my Ustadh.

Then he quoted from the Quran saying, “And We have certainly made the Qur’an easy for remembrance, so is there any who will remember?”

History also explicitly reminds us, that this Quran was inscribed in heart of the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him). Only after it’s revelation to the prophet (Peach be upon him) was it inscribed with ink.” he calmly reminded me.

He placed his hand on my shoulder and drew me near.

He reduced his voice to almost a whisper and said emphatically, “There is a condition… you must believe it!  It’s imperative that you know, in your heart of hearts, that you can memorize it.”

He continued his sagacious advice, “Allah is musarriful quloob (changer of the hearts). Inspiring change within the hearts is under His purview. However, He only amends the condition if we are sincerely yearning for it. Allah mentions in the Quran:

Indeed, Allah will not change the condition of a people until they change what is in themselves 13:11

Forget about what anyone has said to you in the past or will say to you, in the future, to deter you from your goal.  That noise will be constant. Keep believing in you and striving for it… I believe in you and I certainly believe you have the intestinal fortitude to accomplish anything you set your mind to!”

His compassion and conviction overwhelmed me; tears began to trickle down my cheek.  His resolve and desire to see me succeed was contagious and I felt it envelope me. His words cocooned around my caterpillar like soul forming a spiritual chrysalis; releasing me morphed with impregnable determination and irrepressible passion.  Those kind and loving words fueled me in accomplishing the first leg of my journey expeditiously.  What I wasn’t aware of is how the wisdom of those words would parlay into my daily life and every opportunity I face. We can never justly measure the impacts our acts of kindness have.

“Wait long enough and people will surprise and impress. When you’re pissed off at someone and you’re angry at them, you just haven’t given them enough time. Just give them a little more time and they almost always will impress you.” ~ Randy Pausch

Image

Comments

  1. randomblurting says:

    Thank you for sharing this awe-inspiring story. It was extremely thought provoking and motivational.

Comments? Thoughts? Leave a reply...

